Redeeming the Time

I have long resisted blogging, and most of the other forms of social networking available online. There are several reasons for my hesitancy to jump in to the blogosphere, not least that I take seriously Solomon’s warning in Proverbs 19:10, “When there are many words, transgression is unavoidable, but he who restrains his lips is wise.” But the primary reason why I haven’t blogged before now is that I haven’t seen it as the best use of my time; in Paul’s language in Ephesians 5:16 and Colossians 4:5, I haven’t seen it as a wise way for me to redeem the time. I hope to reflect more upon those passages in later posts, but for now notice that Paul implicity acknowledges that we have a limited amount of time on this earth, and he explicity states that the days in which we live are evil; thus we need to make the most of the opportunities that we have before us. Whether in contexts of evangelism (Colossians) or in how we conduct our lives (Ephesians), we should always be praying that our “love may abound still more and more in real knowledge and all discernment, so that [we] may approve the things that are excellent…” (Phil. 1:9-11).

I’m coming around to the idea that blogging may very well be a wise use of my time; it may be an opportunity that I shouldn’t pass up, a chance to do good, to teach, train, counsel, influence, suggest, recommend, exhort, encourage, etc. It certainly will be a way for me to grow as a thinker and a writer, and will give me a vehicle by which to pass along good quotes, passages, books, websites, etc. For more on my goals for this blog, as well as the significance of the title of this blog, see the About section.

I ask that you pray that I won’t spend more time blogging than I ought; that I will not forsake the other parts of my callings for this one; and that I will have wisdom as to what I say, when I say it, and how I say it.

SDG

Leave a Reply

