A Prayer for the Morning

Psalm 143 is a rich psalm, especially for the beginning of a day. The tone of the psalm is plaintive, urgent, even desperate – clearly David faces a rough day ahead. After confessing his sinfulness (“And do not enter into judgment with Your servant, for in Your sight no man living is righteous,” 143:2) and remembering God’s works in the past (143:4), David cries out to the Lord:

“Let me hear Your lovingkindness in the morning; for I trust in You; teach me the way in which I should walk; for to You I lift up my soul. Deliver me, O LORD, from my enemies; I take refuge in You. Teach me to do Your will, for You are my God; let Your good Spirit lead me on level ground. For the sake of Your name revive me. In Your righteousness bring my soul out of trouble. And in Your lovingkindness cut off my enemies and destroy all those who afflict my soul, for I am Your servant” (143:8-12).

David prays that he would be reminded of God’s love first thing in the morning; that God would teach him how he should live; that he would be delivered from his enemies; that God’s Spirit would lead him; that God would revive him and bring him out of trouble. Note how he grounds those requests in his relationship with the Lord and the Lord’s character: “…for I trust in You…for to You I lift up my soul…I take refuge in You…for You are my God…For the sake of Your name…in Your righteousness…in Your lovingkindness…for I am Your servant.” May God conform our prayer lives to David’s.

SDG

Leave a Reply

