A Prayer for Your Children and Grandchildren

In Psalm 144:12, David prays this: “Let our sons in their youth be as grown-up plants, and our daughters as corner pillars fashioned as for a palace.” My hope and prayer as a father is that my children will know the Lord and His grace from their earliest days, and that they will be more mature, more godly, more knowledgeable, more passionate for God’s glory, more self-denying, more sacrificial, more faithful than I was at their age. In their youth I want them to be as grown-up plants; I want them to be beautiful and grounded and strong in the Lord and in the strength of His might and grace. This can only happen by God’s grace, which is why I pray.

SDG

Leave a Reply

