Some Biblical Reasons Why Bad Things Happen to God’s People

Habakkuk 1:12, “You, O LORD have appointed them to judge; and You, O Rock, have established them to correct.” Psalm 119:71, “It was good for me that I was afflicted, that I may learn Your statutes.” II Corinthians 1:4, “God comforts us in all our affliction so that we will be able to comfort those who are in any affliction with the comfort with which we ourselves are comforted by God.” I Corinthians 1:9, “…we had the sentence of death within ourselves so that we would not trust in ourselves, but in God who raises the dead.” II Corinthians 4:17, “For momentary, light affliction is producing for us an eternal weight of glory far beyond all comparison.” II Corinthians 12:7, “…there was given me a thorn in the flesh, a messenger of Satan to torment me – to keep me from exalting myself!” Hebrews 12:10, “…God disciplines us for our good, so that we may share His holiness.” James 1:2ff., “Consider it all joy, my brethren, when you encounter various trials, knowing that the testing of your faith produces endurance…” I Peter 1:7, “[We have been distressed by various trials] so that the proof of our faith, being more precious than gold which is perishable, even though tested by fire, may be found to result in praise and glory and honor at the revelation of Jesus Christ.

SDG

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Ryan on September 13, 2009 at 10:45 pm

    Thanks for posting that one. I wasn’t able to get them all down this morning and I had wanted too. Incidentally, remind me to ask you if the brief example you gave about losing your wife to cancer at 38 ect. was a real for instance, or just an example of a bad thing that might happen.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

