Luther Throws His Inkwell at the Devil

“When thy conscience is thoroughly afraid with the remembrance of thy sins past, and the devil assaileth thee with great violence, going about to overwhelm thee with heaps, floods, and whole seas of sins, to terrify thee, and to draw thee from Christ; then arm thyself with such sentences as these: ‘Christ the Son of God was given, not for the holy, righteous, worthy, and such as were his friends; but for the wicked sinners, for the unworthy, and for his enemies.’ Wherefore, if the devil say, ‘Thou art a sinner, and therefore must be damned;’ then answer thou, and say, ‘Because thou sayest I am a sinner, therefore will I be righteous and saved.’ And if he replay, ‘Nay, sinners must be damned;’ then answer thou, and say, ‘No, for I flee to Christ, who hath given himself for my sins; and, therefore, Satan, in that thou sayest I am a sinner, thou givest me armor and weapons against thyself, that with thine own sword I may cut thy throat, and tread thee under my feet.’ I say not this for nought; for I have often-times proved by experience, and I daily find what a hard matter it is to believe (especially in the conflict of conscience) that Christ was given, not for the holy, righteous, worthy, and such as were his friends; but for wicked sinners, for the unworthy, and for his enemies.” (Luther on Galatians 1:4a; this quote taken from The Marrow of Modern Divinity, by Edward Fisher with notes by Thomas Boston, page 141).

SDG,
Ezra

Leave a Reply

