Some Principles for Discerning God’s Will from I Corinthians 16

1. Give your money away (1-4).

2. Make plans, including contingency plans (5-6 – “I will come to you after I go through Macedonia, for I am going through Macedonia; and perhaps I will stay with you, or ever spend the winter.”).

3. Rely on God’s providence in all your planning (7 – “I hope to remain with you for some time, if the Lord permits”).

4. Walk through open doors (9 – “…for a wide door for effective service has opened to me…”). But know that you don’t have to (II Corinthians 2:12-13).

5. Adversaries are a good sign (9 – “…and there are many adversaries.”).

6. What do you want? (12 – “I encouraged [Apollos] greatly to come to you with the brethren; and it was not at all his desire to come now…”).

7. Life is guided by opportunities at times (12 – “…but he will come when he has opportunity.”).

8. Always be strong and tender (13-14 – “Be on the alert, stand firm in the faith, act like men, be strong. Let all that you do be done in love.”).

SDG,
Ezra

Leave a Reply

