Withdrawal

Our internet has been down at home since Wednesday, and since I usually post to this blog at night, I haven’t been posting lately. It’s been striking to see how tethered we have become to the Internet – for communication and information. Being unplugged from the internet in a sense (I still have my cell phone, but it’s just not the same) has been good. “All things are lawful, but not all things are profitable. All things are lawful for me, but I will not be mastered by anything” (I Cor. 6:12). If there is anything in our lives without which we cannot live – other than the Triune God – then it’s there that we start to detect an idol of our heart (cf. Ezek. 14). May God strip us of our idols, and cause us to cling to Him alone, to need Him alone, to thirst for Him alone (cf. Ps. 63).

SDG,
Ezra

Leave a Reply

