Thoughts on Gospel Ministry from Colossians 1:24-29

1. Suffering is part and parcel with gospel ministry – “Now I rejoice in my sufferings for your sake, and in my flesh I do my share on behalf of His body, which is the church, in filling up what is lacking in Christ’s afflictions.”

2. We suffer for the sake of other people – “for your sake…on behalf of His body…”

3. Gospel ministry is a stewardship from God – “Of this church I was made a minister according to the stewardship from God bestowed on me for your benefit…”

4. Gospel ministry is for the sake of other people – “…bestowed on me for your benefit…”

5. The call to the ministry is a call to preach the word of God – “…so that I might fully carry out the preaching of the word of God…”

6. Gospel ministers must preach Christ – “We proclaim Him…”

7. Ministry is confrontation – “…admonishing every man…”

8. Ministry is education – “…and teaching every man…”

9. Ministry is about transformation – “…so that we may present every man complete in Christ.”

10. Ministry demands wisdom – “…with all wisdom…”

11. Ministry is anything but passive laziness – “For this purpose also I labor…”

12. Ministry is anything but self-reliance – “…striving according to His power, which mightily works within me.”

SDG,
Ezra

Leave a Reply

