Random Thoughts on Digital Forms of Communication

As the thought has gone through my head that I haven’t blogged in awhile, I’ve realized that I’m a very old-school communicator. That is, digital communication is not my preferred method of communication for most things. I’m not constantly posting to Facebook and Twitter and my blog the way many of my contemporaries are. I barely text, I don’t own an Iphone (yet?), I just got a Facebook account, I still email (rather than “Facebook”), and I don’t really know how to use Twitter. The reason I eventually ended up getting a Facebook account is because I realized that it is becoming as ubiquitous as email and the telephone – it’s the way so many folks are communicating these days. What sort of pastor would say, “No, I don’t have a telephone”? But even as I write this post, I confess that I have problems with the way that people favor digital communication over more embodied means of communicating. Not least are the implications of III John 13-14 and Romans 1:11ff. on the priority of face to face communication. To be sure, Paul and John wrote letters; but they understood that as humans, who dwell in finite, limited bodies, personal contact is better if you can get it. Man does not live on Facebook or Twitter alone.

SDG,
Ezra and the Farmer

2 responses to this post.

  1. Caleb, i couldn’t agree with you more. As effective as Twitter, Facebook and other social media sites are at networking, making acquaintances and quickly communicating with others I fear they are detaching people, especially teenagers, from deep relationships as well as personal development. So many people have traded deep friendships for 1,000 Facebook “friends” that they don’t even know. I pray that we would use technology as a tool and not a replacement for the things that really matter.

    Reply

    • Posted by calebcangelosi on April 16, 2010 at 10:44 am

      Well said, Will. There’s an article by John Muether in the lastest edition of Tabletalk that contemplates these matters as well. One big question that overarches all these discussions is that of redeeming the time – we all have a limited amount of time; are we spending too much of it on fleeting, trivial things? Caleb

      Reply

Leave a Reply

