Am I a Farmer?

Well, I planted my summer garden today, with the help of Daniel and Laura, but I was discouraged by Laura’s insistence that “We’re not farmers!” Okay, maybe I don’t have a 1500 acre field of cotton, but I do have four rows of corn, three rows of purple hull peas, two rows of bush beans, two rows of green peas, two rows of tomatoes, two rows of lettuce, a half a row of cucumber, and hopefully some pepper plants. I have a red neck and a sore back from hoeing. What else does it take to be a farmer? Okay, so perhaps “gardener” would be a more apt description of what I try to do.

One thing I still want to try to do in this blog is work through the biblical passages that are based on or deal with gardening. How Does Your Garden Grow? sounds like a good title for a book on all the passages that use gardening imagery/allusions/etc. to drive home truth. There are a huge number in the Scriptures, more than you would imagine. The primary passage, of course, is Genesis 2 and 3. Man was created to garden; and man fell into a weedy garden. When I spend time in the garden, fighting weeds, seeking to grow fruit, I feel more connected to the biblical story. I experience the reality of creation, fall, and redemption in a way unlike any other. For part of God’s great work of reconciliation that He has accomplished in the cosmos and in His people (cf. Col. 1:20-23) has to do with gardens bearing fruit without weeds in the age to come. And in the present age, we work against weeds to His glory, we strive with all our might according to His strength to be what He created us to be: workers, laborers, sowers, harvesters – not only in the literal fields, but in the spiritual fields as well. If you don’t have a garden, I encourage you to plant one, so that you might have the opportunity to reflect upon the gospel in new ways.

SDG,
Ezra and the Farmer

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Larry Walker on April 16, 2010 at 11:24 pm

    This reminds me of Spurgeon’s “The Sword and the Trowel”.

    Reply

    • Posted by calebcangelosi on April 17, 2010 at 4:58 pm

      Yes, I’ve heard of that but I don’t think I own a copy – or was it a multi-volume sort of thing? Do you have it/any? CC

      Reply

  2. Posted by Mike Thornton on April 17, 2010 at 6:26 am

    Way to go on the garden! My kids reluctantly “enjoy” our small square foot gardens. We have five so far comprising 36 sq foot, or is it feet?. 🙂 Potatoes, garlic, onion, broccoli, cabbage now. Peas, tomatoes, peppers and Okra to follow. Mixed with Marigolds. Still too much shade in my back yard but any garden beats none. May God continue to add fruit to your labors both, physicall and spiritual.

    Reply

    • Posted by calebcangelosi on April 17, 2010 at 5:09 pm

      Good to hear from you, Mike. Despite all your encouragement toward square foot gardens through the years, I’ve never been able to get away from the rows. I’m sure it’s not the most efficient use of my space, but I just like the way it looks. At least when it’s first planted. By the time the weeds grow up, it’s hideous.

      Do you think your kids will continue gardening? I hope mine do. To that end I don’t pressure them into helping. They enjoy it for awhile, then usually tire. Since it’s not a necessity for the family as it once was for families, I don’t feel like I need to force them to help. Do you have any thoughts about how to inculcate a love for the soil in your kids?

      Thanks for your prayers!

      CC

      Reply

  3. Posted by Mom on April 17, 2010 at 3:54 pm

    I will reflect vicariously thru u, my son, gratefull for your gift of writing…

    Reply

  4. Posted by Katy and Daniel on April 19, 2010 at 9:31 am

    Yes, Caleb, I am grateful for your gifts and interests. I don’t know how you do it all. I haven’t gotten a “green thumb” yet, but I am hoping that my desires will increase as the kids get older and can help. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

