A Kid in a Candy Store

Today I have the privilege of traveling to Princeton, NJ, to do research at Princeton Seminary on my ThM. I’m planning on doing my thesis on William Plumer, a 19th century Presbyterian pastor and seminary professor, who was a prolific author and commentator. His papers (12 boxes worth) are in the archives at Princeton Seminary, and I get to go play with them for a few days. I’m especially excited about getting a look at a commentary on the Westminster Confession he wrote, as well as his sermon manuscripts and some autobiographical notes; there are also lots of letters and other documents that will be incredible to sift through. Doing historical and theological research is a lot like being a detective, and since I’ve always loved mystery novels it’s right up my alley. I’ll actually be taking pictures of everything so that I can read it all when I get home. (Thanks to the Hodges for their camera and tripod!)

Plumer was an American J.C. Ryle, writing primarily for the common man and filling his work with pastoral and practical meat for living a pious and Christ centered life. I can’t wait to immerse myself in his writings overs the next five years, and Lord willing grow in grace and in usefulness for the church. Please pray that I will be able to redeem the short time I have in Princeton, and gain insight into the exact direction I should take my thesis.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Beth Sanford on January 24, 2012 at 11:32 pm

    I’m jealous. I love history and would love to be able to compare his works to what you would find today at Princeton in theological circles.
    Beth

    Reply

Leave a Reply

