A Tribute to Knox Chamblin

My former seminary professor Knox Chamblin has gone to be with Jesus. He was one of the most gentle, humble men I’ve had the privilege of knowing, and his love for Jesus and for the word was contagious. I was able to take several NT classes from him, including Pauline Epistles, the gospel and letters of John, and two Greek electives. He retired after my second year at RTS, so I never got to take his C. S. Lewis class (which you can listen to for free on Itunes), but I’ve heard it was one of his best.  He loved the Greek language, and he definitely is one of the primary reasons that I continue translating my preaching texts week by week. I didn’t always connect with his teaching style, but he was clear and passionate. I’ll never forget him standing up in the first day of Pauline Epistles and quoting I Cor. 2:1-5. He would often point out themes that would make a great ThM thesis, and his encouragement to that end is one reason why I pursue a ThM now. He wrote a book on Paul’s theology, as well as a two volume commentary on Matthew’s gospel. I commend them both. I look forward to reviewing my old classnotes and remembering his voice, his smile, his twinkling eye. “Through faith, though he is dead, he still speaks” (Heb. 11:4). May the Lord comfort his family, and allow his love for the gospel of Jesus to continue to permeate the church. I look forward to seeing my beloved teacher in heaven.

SDG

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Chad Bailey on February 9, 2012 at 10:20 pm

    Well said, brother. My thoughts too

    Reply

  2. Posted by bird on February 22, 2012 at 1:21 pm

    He was one reason I became a Christian and a Presbyterian.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

