With William Plumer in Romans, Evening

Romans 1:9
NAS – For God, whom I serve in my spirit in the preaching of the gospel of His Son, is my witness as to how unceasingly I make mention of you…
KJV – For God is my witness, whom I serve with my spirit in the gospel of his Son, that without ceasing I make mention of you always in my prayers…

“When men, the tenor of whose lives proves them sincere and upright, offer us their oath or affirmation, we should receive their statement, and act upon it as true. Even, if such may possibly be deceived, or, if in some cases those of good repute may speak untruly, we ought so far to credit what is said as not to be filled with suspicion. It is better to be deceived sometimes than to suspect everybody. Brown: ‘When men dare hazard their souls, in calling God to witness in any particular, it is our duty to believe it as truth, and not to question it any more.'” (Romans, 57)

Day 19 – Evening

Leave a Reply

