A prayer for the morning – Ps. 143

“Let me hear Your lovingkindness in the morning; for I trust in You; teach me the way in which I should walk; for to You I lift up my soul…Teach me to do Your will, for You are my God; let Your good Spirit lead me on level ground. For the sake of Your name revive me. In Your righteousness bring my soul out of trouble” (Ps. 143:8, 10-11).

David desires to experience God’s steadfast love anew each day; he confesses that God is his hope and trust; he postures himself as a disciple/learner/padawan, as one willing to be led; he commits himself to the Lord; he acknowledges the covenant of grace; he prays for revival and to be brought out of trouble. In this same psalm he declares himself to be sinful and worthy of judgment (143:2), and he proclaims his desire for the Lord Himself (143:6). He entrusts his enemies/trouble to the Lord (143:3-4, 7, 9, 11-12). May the Lord shape our prayers according to His word.

Leave a Reply

