Jonathan Edwards on how we act as our own rather than as God’s

“I shall act as my own, if I ever make use of any of my powers to anything that is not to the glory of God, and don’t make the glorifying him my while and entire business; if I murmur in the least at afflictions; if I grieve at the prosperity of others; if I am anyway uncharitable; if I am angry because of injuries; if I revenge: If I do anything, purely to please myself, or if I avoid anything for the sake of my ease: if I omit anything because it is great self-denial: if I trust to myself: if I take any of the praise of any good that I do, or rather God does by me; or if I am anyway proud.” (Diary, 1/12/1723)

Leave a Reply

